NFC-best 49ers place five on AP All-Pro first team

Running back Christian McCaffrey and middle linebacker Fred Warner top the list of five San Francisco 49ers players selected for The Associated Press 2023 NFL All-Pro Team.

McCaffrey and Warner were two of three unanimous selections for the first team among the panel of 50 media members, with Miami Dolphins wide receiver Tyreek Hill rounding out the trio.

Other members selected from the 49ers, the top seed in the NFC for the upcoming playoffs, were left tackle Trent Williams, fullback Kyle Juszczyk and tight end George Kittle.

Quarterback Lamar Jackson was selected from the top seed in the AFC, the Baltimore Ravens, who also had safety Kyle Hamilton named to the first team.

Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald was chosen for the eighth time, which ties him for the most selections ever for a defensive player.

The first-team on offense was comprised exclusively of players on teams that qualified for the playoffs. The Dallas Cowboys’ CeeDee Lamb and the Detroit Lions’ Amon-Ra St. Brown rounded out the trio of wide receivers.

At left guard, the Kansas City Chirfs’ Joe Thuney was selected, while the Cowboys’ Zack Martin was picked at right guard. The Philadelphia Eagles’ Jason Kelce was selected at center, while the Lions’ Penei Sewell got the honor at right tackle. Martin made the team for a seventh time, while Kelce earned a sixth nod.

On defense, edge rushers named were Myles Garrett of the Cleveland Browns and T.J. Watt of the Pittsburgh Steelers. The Chiefs’ Chris Jones was selected as an interior defensive lineman, along with Donald.

The Ravens’ Roquan Smith earned a spot on the first team at linebacker, while the Cowboys’ DaRon Bland was picked at cornerback. The slot cornerback is Trent McDuffie of the Chiefs and the safety is Antoine Winfield Jr. from the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Two players selected to the first-team defense from non-playoff teams were linebacker Quincy Williams and cornerback Sauce Gardner from the New York Jets.

On special teams, the first-team kicker is Brandon Aubrey of the Cowboys, while AJ Cole of the Las Vegas Raiders is the punter. The kick returner is Keisean Nixon of the Green Bay Packers, the punt returner is Rashid Shaheed of the New Orleans Saints and the special teamer is Miles Killebrew of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott was selected to the second team as were a pair of players from the Rams, including running back Kyren Williams and rookie wide receiver Puka Nacua.

Wide receiver Brandon Aiyuk and cornerback Charvarius Ward of the 49ers also were selected to the second team, as was fullback Patrick Ricard, interior defensive lineman Justin Madubuike and linebacker Patrick Queen of the Ravens.


Quarterback — Lamar Jackson, Baltimore Running Back — Christian McCaffrey, San Francisco Fullback — Kyle Juszczyk, San Francisco Tight End — George Kittle, San Francisco Wide Receivers — Tyreek Hill, Miami; CeeDee Lamb, Dallas; Amon-Ra St. Brown, Detroit Left Tackle — Trent Williams, San Francisco Left Guard — Joe Thuney, Kansas City Center — Jason Kelce, Philadelphia Right Guard — Zack Martin, Dallas Right Tackle — Penei Sewell, Detroit

DEFENSE Edge Rushers — Myles Garrett, Cleveland; T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh Interior Linemen — Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Chris Jones, Kansas City Linebackers — Fred Warner, San Francisco; Roquan Smith, Baltimore; Quincy Williams; New York Jets Cornerbacks — DaRon Bland, Dallas; Sauce Gardner, New York Jets Slot cornerback — Trent McDuffie, Kansas City Safeties — Kyle Hamilton, Baltimore; Antoine Winfield Jr., Tampa Bay

SPECIAL TEAMS Placekicker — Brandon Aubrey, Dallas Punter — AJ Cole, Las Vegas Kick Returner — Keisean Nixon, Green Bay Punt Returner — Rashid Shaheed, New Orleans Special Teamer — Miles Killebrew, Pittsburgh Long Snapper — Ross Matiscik, Jacksonville

SECOND TEAM OFFENSE Quarterback — Dak Prescott, Dallas Running Back — Kyren Williams, Los Angeles Rams Fullback — Patrick Ricard, Baltimore Tight End — Sam LaPorta, Detroit Wide Receivers — A.J. Brown, Philadelphia; Puka Nacua, Los Angeles Rams; x-Brandon Aiyuk, San Francisco; x-Mike Evans; Tampa Bay Left Tackle — Tyron Smith, Dallas Left Guard — Tyler Smith, Dallas Center — Frank Ragnow, Detroit Right Guard — Chris Lidstrom, Atlanta Right Tackle — Lane Johnson, Philadelphia

DEFENSE Edge Rushers — Micah Parsons, Dallas; Maxx Crosby, Las Vegas Interior Linemen — Justin Madubuike, Baltimore; Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants Linebackers — Demario Davis, New Orleans; Bobby Wagner, Seattle; Patrick Queen, Baltimore Cornerbacks — Jaylon Johnson, Chicago; Charvarius Ward, San Francisco Slot cornerback — Taron Johnson, Buffalo Safeties — Jessie Bates III, Atlanta; Justin Simmons, Denver

SPECIAL TEAMS Placekicker – Jake Elliott, Philadelphia Punter — Bryan Anger, Dallas Kick Returner — Marvin Mims, Denver Punt Returner — Derius Davis, Los Angeles Chargers Special Teamer — Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Detroit Long Snapper — Andrew DePaola, Minnesota

x — tied for second-team spot